It was for business, NOT a vacation! [ 2003-07-28, 6:20 a.m. ]

I don't know why it bothers me. But all morning I have been welcomed back from "vacation" and I scream back "IT WAS A CONFERENCE! REALLY!". I know people are just trying to be nice, relax man, relax.

But indeed I am back from my conference/vacation in Chicagoland. I did enjoy it muchly. It is a beautiful city, and despite their rep, I found Chicagoans to be friendly and polite. I could easily see myself living there. Well, except for what it must be like in January when it's 30 below and the wind is whipping in from Lake Michigan. My nothern European ancestory is too far removed now for me to suffer that well!

The highlights were the Art Institute and their wonderful collection of Monet's and other Impressionalist (is that what you call them?). I love this period and I was ga-ga over the collection. Next was Wrigley Field. Awesome, awesome, awesome. I took my place amoung "da bleacher bums" and soaked in sudsy adult beverages, a hot dog, a pretzel and some sunburn. The dreaded, hated Phillies won, but I got to see Sammy park one right near my seat! Everyone must go here at least once and you MUST sit out amidst the chaos that is the bleacher area. Just get there early to snag a good seat, since seats aren't assigned out there. But yeah, Chicago is a-ok in my book.

So now just settling back in to my routine. ahem. Already I am counting down to my "actual vacation" (six weeks!) and that will keep me going.

Now time to settle in and catch up on all my friends diaries and see what's up with whom. Oh and I guess I need to work a bit too. As time allows.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level