I'm dead, pass the potato salad [ 2003-07-21, 8:10 a.m. ]

Aha!

It's Monday and I am not at work! But a full day nonetheless. Pack and finish a few house things. Head to the funeral at 1pm. Run home, change and get to the airport for my 8:15pm flight. Heh. The people at work think I am already in Chicago. It's like I'm playing hookey. In high school that meant meeting up on the parkway somewhere and getting blitzed. Ahh, the good old days.

What a weird thing all this funeral stuff is. Last night we go see this body on "exhibition". You stand around and make small talk and laugh and the usual right by a dead body! Is it just me, or is that messed up?

Milling around a dead body apparently works up an appetite. Because then everyone congregates at the dead person's house and eats tons o' food. It's like "haha, since you're gone, the party's at your house". Also there must be a guidebook out there for what you bring the family to eat, because it is always the same. Thirty different casseroles, 5 gallon buckets of fried chicken, and fifty forms of potato salad. I don't know, it's all just bizarre if you ask me.

When I go, I don't want a bunch of people looking at me and talking about "what a good job they did on him". I'm dead for Chrissakes! How good am I supposed to look?!? I suppose everyone needs a place to gather for the funeral, but where my body should be I want a sign saying "I'm dead leave me alone". Then stick me in the ground, go have a party on me and it's over.

This time tomorrow I will really be in Chicago, really, I swear, I swear.

I hope everyone has a great week.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level