Third times the charm??? [ 2003-09-11, 8:54 a.m. ]

You know it didn't hit me until last week what this "Patriots Day" thing was on my calendar when I noticed what date exactly was. The calendar I have by my desk, it's a weird one. It doesn't show some major American holidays yet seems to have every day something like "National Cross-dressing day (Canada)" or "Beat your wife after the soccer match day (Australia)". So I didn't pay much attention.

I have started and tossed two entries today already (insert sound of paper being balled up and thrown across the room hitting nuttin' but net as it goes into the trash receptacle). Everything I write serious sounds trite and any parody comes off as disrespectful.

But I'm sorry I am just not the type who likes to wallow in sorrow. Like at my grandmother's (who basically raised me the first few years of my life) funeral I was smiling. I was immediately jumped on by many. "How can you do this?" they asked. I said that she had lived a long life and had told me she was ready to go and now she was where she wanted to be and so I was happy for her. And I was remembering the good times. There are relatives I don't give a rat's about who still hold this against me. You know, blank them and the horse they rode in on. That's just how I am made.

I've done my share of bashing this President and many things in this country but I try to do so in a thoughtful, respectful manner. But so many are awash in juvenile hatred and partisianship these days. I mean libs and Republicans both, I love you guys, but all the bashing and bitch slapping of the other side is just really getting old. We're all on the same team here. Things aren't so bad. My 401k is gaining instead of losing showing me the market has turned the corner. Unemployment is no higher than it was back '95 and '96. Knock on wood there have been no new attacks on us, at least yet. Our parents and grandparents had it oh so much worse than us, and yet we whine because gas is a $1.50 a gallon or whatever. Please.

I don't know where I was going with any of this and I don't feel like starting over yet again, so eh, there it is.

In the immortal words that Kieth Richards supposedly said when buying a house "this will be a nice place once you get a party and an orgy in it". Word man, word.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level