If only Ted had a Starbucks nearby [ 2004-01-11, 7:56 a.m. ]

So some university in Michigan is going to proudly display the works of Ted Kacynski in the "library of social justice". Ummm. yeah.

Let me tell you why the cowardly "Unabomber" and his manifesto can bite me. Technology is wonderful. I love my new coffee maker more than life itself.

Like Rush Limbaugh and his hillbilly heroin, like Timothy Leary and acid, like Robert Downey Jr. and well any abusable substance, I have a life dominating addiction. To coffee. Yes, I worship the ground that Juan Valdez and his trusty mule pick the beans for 50 cents an hour. A hilly, formed by volcanic spewage, plantation in South America.

Of course, a real addict refines the consumption of his addiction to an art form. Why, you must buy whole beans, quality beans, perfectly roasted which are only ground seconds before brewing. No tap water dammit! Either filtered or spring water must be used. And then the brewing temperature must be exact and unwavering. Paper filters? Please, you barbarian. A fine wire mesh must be used to allow the perfect amount of the precious nectar through.

For Christmas I received a beautiful machine of European origin that does all of this for me. Say what you will of the Euro's, they now how to propogate coffee. I can set a timer and the beans will be ground and the coffee brewed to my specifications at the exact moment I desire. In fact, as I sit here typing, I am under the influence of this heady drink. Brewed strong and served black (sugar and milk are you insane?) just like the Natives of the region would have done.

So that brings us back to the rantings of the madman Kacynski. Had he owned such a machine and tasted the product it brewed, he would have embraced technology, and never blown up anyone. And actually if I don't have my coffee in the morning, I am about ready to blow up someone or something, so I maybe in some way I can actually relate.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level