come here I'll show ya something. [ 2004-02-25, 4:08 p.m. ]

As Ben Franklin once said "revenge is best tasted cold, with a side of potato salad and beer". I may have paraphrased that a tad.

First let's go way back.

10th grade (stop groaning, just read)at good ole PH. My AP Biology teacher Ms.Via or Old Hag Via or more clever yet unprintable names. First day of school she takes those of us from the less well to do section of town (well as compared to richy-rich land) and told us that our middle school likely did not have us prepared like the other students and we might consider dropping. Some did. I just got pissed. I didn't have a chip on my shoulder, I had a whole block baby. The first time I was called on I answered, "I wouldn't know my parents don't make enough money". Yep, vice-principle Partington's office it was for me. I mouthed off a few times, I got sent down river a couple more times but I perservered and maintained a "c" and stayed afloat. She made comments concerning genetics and race that would have her fired today. We were all white kids true but I was amazed no one said a thing. Well except for me. I think I used the answer of "yes'm massah!" to a question and it went down hill from there. Horrible woman, horrible. I managed a "b" because I kicked ass and yes cheated off a loverly little chickie on the exam. Heh, take that biotch.

Anyway, the dried up bitty had a fave saying. When you answered she'd say "I'm from Missouri you'll have to show me". Funny as hell, the show-me state and all. yeascchh! I've heard this before mind you, but this woman used it several times a class. In my brain I wanted to blurt out a million biting responses or simply drop my pants, to this statement, but I knew there was only so far I could push without getting booted. Ohhh and she pronounced it like Mizz-ewer-ah. That's not right is it? Anyway a wretched woman who I am sure is dead now and that does not make me anything but happy. She really brutalized the weak sheepish types I tell you and many failed or just dropped it.

Fast forward to yesterday. An annoying sales rep has been dogging me for weeks to switch to his shite riddled product. Yesterday he comes by for the fifth time in two weeks. He slaps some pricing down for me to see. I tell him it's not good enough, thank you much, we'll be seein' ya. He says "I don't buy that, you just don't want to switch for some reason." I said "I don't care if you buy it or not, I have better contract pricing, but thanks for coming in". And then he says...................................."I'm from Missouri you'll have to show me".

I felt my face redden and my eyes narrow. He did as well and he took a good two steps backward. HERE was that phrase that brought back the year in school from someone already pushing my buttons. I did the count to ten thing. Still pissed. And then I let go.

"The only goddamn thing I am going to show you is the door and if you don't immediately head for that, I'm going to show your stupid, ugly ass my foot going up it!!!" My assistant comes running down the hall, I guess I sort of screamed it. The guy took off pretty much at a jog and left. At first I felt bad for the outburst. Not real professional I know. I told my boss all the above and she laughed and laughed and thought it was great. The more I think about it, I agree. Thus was I finally able, lo these many years later, to verbalize my answer to that statement in the direction of Ms. Via's evil Missouri-wannabe-disciple. Full circle baby.

By the way, no offense to the great state of Mizz-ewer-ah. I am sure these arse-clowns aren't even from there.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level