A peg leg is good for extra storage [ 2003-08-29, 6:31 a.m. ]

Well then. Here we stand on the cusp of a three day weekend. I will presently temper my glee however, as it's early this Friday a.m. and a lot of bad shiote can still go down before quitting time. Perhaps to celebrate I'll share three of my fave quotes. You know, to add a literary edge to my diary and make me appear well-read.

"Suppose you are an idiot. And suppose you are a member of congress. But I repeat myself"--Mark Twain

"I don't make jokes. I just watch the government and report the facts"--Will Rogers.

"The ultimate result of shielding men from the effects of folly, is to fill the world with fools".--Herbert Spencer.

In other news, there is a bit of bad news in Guttercity my friends. Wednesday morning after running tuesday night as usual, I woke up with a stabbing pain in my left knee and swelling etc. Yep, tendonitis. Not serious mind you, it'll go away in a few days and I'll be back to it. BUT the very event I was training towards the US10K on Monday will be a no-go. Ahem. Well when life hand you lemons make hand grenades as I always say. I'll just play more golf then. Hell with my swing, having a peg leg wouldn't make any difference. Ahh, well there's always next year and I am still all the better for the four months of hard running that has gotten me in great shape. Who am I kidding! I'm pretty pissed. But enough of that....

I have to go pick out a new fridge for the house. I don't care about the fingerprint resistant crap or ice maker this or all that jive. I need room for beer and many condiments. I am big condiment man. I will have five kinds of mayo and seven kinds of mustard and a special dressing made by goat herders in Siberia or something. I think I'll take a case of beer with me and then see how it all fits in there. I'll show up with a grocery cart full of stuff and try them out. How else are ya gonna know? They all look huge when they're empty!

I play golf on Sat and now Monday, there is a gathering it appears Sunday eve, so I'd call it an action packed weekend. And COLLEGE FOOTBALL STARTS! Whew! Can't forget that. Me, my dog, an adult beverage and football. That my friends, is good living.

Everyone have a good weekend and be safe. If you can't be safe then name it after me. buhdummm-pah!

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level