dumb, yes. deaf?? [ 2003-08-28, 10:42 a.m. ]

yes, yes, y'all.

Last night our trivia team started it's road to greatness. We tied for second (though ended up third on the tie breaker) and raked in 15 cool ones, dollars, that is. It's only a matter of time until our domination takes us to the top of our, ummm, profession.

My biggest contribution? Surely you think history or something sports would come from me, but no, I knew that the mystery meat known as SPAM was short for "spiced ham". The wonder that is me, knows no bounds.

This caused an incident earlier here at work however. I was getting my coffee and as I had mentioned the above event to ONE person yesterday, this person asked how it went? When I replied, another person butted in and had to inform me she used to have a team that routinely finished first. I hate people who always have to one-up you. Bitch.

Then another wanted to know where we played at etc and others joined in and what a nightmare. You see I don't take breaks or lunch in the lounge just for this reason. Because of The Policy.

The Policy was started after on my last job an inter-office romance I had with a co-worker went south. And she went public. There is nothing worse than having to work in that atmosphere.

I came to my current job swearing I would not only never date a co-worker, I just preferred to do my job and go home and remain a mystery to everyone. Hmmm.

Within, two months I had already broken this policy wide open, thanks to a bottle of Cuervo and a hot blonde receptionist. This could and would have gotten out of control when the relationship she wanted with me didn't happen but through divine intervention she got another job. I escaped!

After that the Policy has been followed to a tee and I don't pursue friendships or any after work activities with co-workers. It's a great policy and has paid off. I do however work with dozens of women who want me to share my personal life the way they do with each other. Sooo, when they get a chance they jump on it.

Maybe next job I'll pretend to be deaf. Do the deaf get handicapped parking?

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level