pars, pollen and pitching [ 2003-03-31, 10:40 a.m. ]

Here I am. Right back at work and back into the daily grind. The mini-vacation came and went like a one-night stand.

And as I always do, I try to glean little instructive lessons from my own experiences.

What I learned was that with determination, work and the desire to overcome you really can do anything. I can hit the dreaded, evil little white ball well. I placed third in my tourney (after finishing last my first two) and after a year of what seemed like one step forward, two steps back results, it all came together. It was magical almost. I shot thirty strokes better than this time last year.

Now truly, all of life cannot be measured in such an easily recognizable way. But if I applied myself that eagerly to more things, how much more might I accomplish? Well, sometimes too you just have to enjoy the small things in life...

like that Spring is here. Baseball season has begun. Yoohoo!

And yes sometimes stopping to smell the flowers means sneezing yellow goop all over the place, but we can't let that stop us from trying. It's about the small moments. A little ball going in a cup.

Sure, I know this is a little pollyanna-ish coming from yours truly, but even a cynic like me can appreciate things from time to time. But don't get used to it, this fresh from vacation glow surely won't last. I'll be back tomorrow to grumble as per usual. But there were moments I take from the weekend back into real life. Hitting three pars this weekend. Having the lowest round (with handicap)the third day. Kristin the cute, college cartgirl who seemed to develope a crush on me. (nice to know I still got it!) Watching the ducks yesterday in the rain as I waited to tee off. One of the more peaceful moments I've had in a long time. Being so tired Saturday night from playing that I slept the sleep of an innocent child. The look on Roo and my dog Nikki's face when I returned and how genuinely happy they appeared to see me. The cat? Well, she is a different story, but in her own way I am sure she too was glad to have me back. Okay, enough of this peace and love stuff. Back to the real world.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level