focused like a laser [ 2004-01-08, 9:09 a.m. ]

My dog is either a genius or a goofball. But either way she is absolutely a nut.

This morning I had open the curtains/blinds in the living room and was in the bathroom dressing and getting ready to leave for work. Suddenly I hear all 60 willowy pounds of pure dog take off in full run for the front window in the dining room. She begins barking and growling like the world was ending. This is always startling because she is well taught not to just bark pointlessly (we mock such dogs) and of course in the house we always use our "inside voice" (ok so I learned parenting skills from Barney. Finally some return on my tax dollars to fund educational tv!) and so she NEVER barks inside.

Well at this moment, I am in no ummmm. position to go see what is up, and by the time I get there she is quiet but staring ahead into the darkness. I look out and see absolutely nothing. I wonder if she has lost her mind but give her the benefit of the doubt and stand with her and keep watching. I do notice the full moon peaking suddenly through the clouds. As this happens she begins emitting a low growl. Is the freak dog barking at the moon? I get on her level and look at what she is. She is staring straight down not up. Suddenly I see something! In my neighbor's driveway (across the street)is a an object gleaming in the bright moonlight (we have no streetlights or nearby artificial lights really so the moon seems five times brighter than in the city). It's the plastic wrap on his newspaper (the Atlanta Urinal and Constipation, a publication that would be too far left for Karl Marx). Sure enough as I stand there and the moon again hides behind the clouds she stops growling. So I am not sure if this is highly intelligent behavior or if my dog is just a freak. However, it leads me to think that if I am ever about to be attacked by lasers that she will be all over it. That makes me feel safer already.

Whatever happened to lasers anyway? A few years ago that was THE technology of the future. Lasers for surgery, for weapons for satellites. Now? All I see are those annoying pointer things that some moron brings to crowded events or that laser leveling device for use around the house. We spent millions in research for this?

But when lasers do come back into vogue and the terrorists start using them. Me and my dog will be at the forefront of the fight!

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level