Gratuitous usage of "dirty" words! [ 2003-05-23, 7:45 a.m. ]

Annika. I've been waiting all week for the lunatic fringes out there to hit full force before much comment. And now they have. You have the "it's about time women were finally given a chance blah, blah" crowd. You also have the insecure male, small penis crowd with the "well then men should be able to play on the LPGA tour" crowd. And oh how BOTH have it wrong.

It's pretty simple really. If she can play and make the cut under the same rules as the men under the same conditions, she can play, if she can't then she won't. Until such time as the PGA becomes the Penis Golf Association then anyone who is good enough regardless of gender or race or apparently how funny they dress can be a touring member. It's about the best player. The LPGA is not about who is the best golfer in the world, but who is the best female golfer in the world. Why it says so right in the name. Just like the senior tour is about the best golfer of a certain age, not the best in the world.

But it's not a gain for women as far as equality or whatever. There has never been a rule forbidding women to join, and women have played events before. This has nothing to do with Martha Burke and her insanity.

It's about a person and that person's dreams. Annika's life is golf and she wants to play against the best. Yesterday she did just that. But she is doing this on her own merit, not with any special treatment or exceptions. I am rooting for her to do well. She is handling all this in a dignified manner and showing what outstanding character she has.

I can see why NOW members would be spouting off, but why are some men so upset? Are you that insecure? I have a friend who was a golfer in college and she is an outstanding golfer. I consider it an honor that she has on occassion invited a total hacker like me to play a round with her. She absolutely kicks my ass. However, I don't come home and kick my dog or something. As a matter of fact at no point during those rounds do I recall any players genitals coming into play! I don't recall a shot that called for a pitching wedge swung from the testicles. (wow I've used the words penis and testicles both in this entry, this is fun!)

I had a girlfriend once who assured me that she had learned that any man who drives a muscle car, constantly revving the engines or one of those trucks with tires the size of a house were suffering from "small penis syndrome" and that their vehicles and attitudes were the compensation for their inadequate endowment. I believe this. I think these are the same guys who appear threatened that a woman can play golf with the big boys.

Heh. Here's to Annika and here's to people who strive to be the best and go out there and get it done. If I could I'd like to be out there in her gallery yelling "You da Woman!" after she hits.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level