is Bono taller than Jesus? [ 2004-04-16, 9:00 a.m. ]

I've oft heard or read that someone will point out their "moral compass" or someone of lofty morals whose example is studied.

But what of myself, who would I point to? I have no real answer for that.

Ok, yeah I know, the religon answer. True enough I do study that example and I suppose that could be a compass to point to, but to relate my life to Jesus? No one will ever mistake my actions for those of the son of god, though I have been called a sonovabiotch before. Who do I think I am? Bono?

As far as our modern society, I can't say I see an overwhelming number of candidates. Mother Teresa? Ghandi? Again, who in the world can relate to that? In fact most of what I see around me and in the media actually makes ME feel morally superior! And if that's the case, that's a real sad statement on our world. Because my lord I've....well just nevermind all of what I may or may not have done or still do, that's beside the point.

What of my heroe's through history? Thomas Jefferson? Died in debt, banging a slave possibly, hell, just for owning slaves! Great mind, but not good for emulation.

Ben Franklin? Wise, wise man. Eh, left his wife for 15 years while cavorting with women all over Europe. Admire yes, moral compass? No.

My parents? I guess so, in an "average as grits" way, good people and all but I never found them inspirational, just average people trying to get by in the world.

The problem as well is, what code of morality do I adhere to? I find myself at odds with society in general as to what is moral quite often, just as I do with organized religon. I guess I've sort of culled what I find practical to my life from all of these sources and have my own code of morals. Is that what we all do?

I'm very much from the "no harm, no foul" school. If I can't find where an action in some way harms someone, then I have trouble finding fault with it.

This might make me sound kind of wacky, but possibly the best example I can find could well be my canine friend Nikki. She is loyal, affectionate, grateful for small things. She doesn't judge people, but accepts them as they are if they are simply friendly to her. If the shiote hit the fan, I know she'd be right there with me fighting whatever. My dog is my moral compass? (actually that would make a great book title)

Certainly not the cat. The cat is like us humans, first sign of trouble she'd hit the ground running and say "see ya dude".

I dunno, these are deep waters that I've waded into here. And I'm no fan of getting but so deep at any point. So I'll resurface here.

It's the weekend!! Maybe I can't turn holy water into wine, but that's okay, the grocery store has all I need.

cheers.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level