Seperation anxiety [ 2003-09-09, 4:31 p.m. ]

Oh there is dread in the air.

It happens every time I near leaving town and leaving my constant sidekick and best bud, my dog Nikki.

I feel so guilty. It is horrible when I drop her off at "the Farm". She looks so confused as to why "The guy who feeds her" is dropping her off and leaving. Heartbreaking. I know she'll be well taken care of and safe but man I tell you.

So to make up for it, I always work in an extra hike or two to our mountain trails before I leave, like this evening. I also must admit that I will miss her while I am gone. It is amazing how you grow attached to your animals.

But when I wake up, she is there to greet me and we go for a 20 minute walk/run. Then we eat breakfast and she sees to the door and gives me that "I'll be here when you get home, guy who feeds me". When I get home she is there at the door tail wagging two hundred miles an hour. We go out back and play catch with a tennis ball and then the rest of the evening wherever I go she goes.

Maybe I'm just a sucker for a female with big brown eyes eh?

And I'll leave on Friday and have a good and relaxing week but there will be a void where my pup should be I assure you.

"The Farm" where I take her is literally just that. This old farmer and his family run the kennel. She gets a good sized run to herself, no cage, and then an area to play in a couple of times a day. And of course other dogs to socialize with.

We will both be fine shortly afterwards but that moment where we seperate, it's just really tough for a few minutes driving away.

Oh well, I can dread that later, now we have a mountain to climb Nikki and I.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level