Independance from the computer? [ 2003-07-07, 5:35 a.m. ]

Wow. I never intended to have gone three days without so much as turning on my computer but these are busy days right now.

Friday, I ran my 5k. Still being on the cusp of what I consider being in competitive running shape, my goal was merely to run a relaxed race. As long as no one who needed a cane to get to the starting line or any small child beat me, I would be okay with it. And though a seven year old girl stayed with me the first mile, she faded during the second and my dignity was intact. I finished in 27 minutes which I'll be honest is pretty slow for me. Back in the day, I clocked in around the 20 minute mark. But as they say, Rome wasn't destroyed in a day, and it's more important to slowly work in and avoid the injuries that have plagued my recent running endevours.

I played a round of golf Friday afternoon as I am a moron so that by fireworks time I could barely move a muscle. Saturday morning I took the dog for a hike and later went to the Braves game (won in the 9th inning wahoo!)where I consumed three of those 24 oz beers and a foot long dog with sauerkraut and lived to tell about it.

Sunday was all about the buying and selling of houses. This is hard work. I have looked at so many subdivisions I am going cross-eyed. And the never ending projects to fix up the old house, which shortly goes on the market, is merciless. I think the final decision is on one even further in the sticks to the north, but which is about the same drive to work. The house plan I like is nearly twice the square footage of the current one and I can have my close to an acre yard and somehow afford it with money left over every month. But to get to this Point A to Point B will be a long, sweaty straight line.

So after a day of trudging through open houses and then a few hours of yard work I ended my weekend as I started with a 3 mile jog. The sweltery Georgia summer was up to it's normal tricks but a downpour hit me on the last half a mile back to my truck. That felt so good I can't even describe it adequately in this family friendly forum.

At the very least I can look back and say that I crammed something in to nearly every nook and cranny of my long weekend, and felt every minute of it.

Thank goodness for work today. I need the rest.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level