My life and times with the mighty E.B. [ 2003-06-29, 8:21 p.m. ]

I never considered myself a cat person. I was more of a romping and frolicking with the canines sort. Then I met E.B.. When I "adopted" E.B. as I took over the living accomodations of the owner for a while she was not happy to see me. For I brought a very energetic puppy with me. Also the mighty one was used to sleeping on top of you during the night and "digging in". After some pain on both ends we came to the agreement that she would be okay sleeping curled up against me or with two paws only on me if there was sheet between her and me. Secondly I made the bedroom a "dog free zone" and so now having her kingdom she was happy. I ignored those who said that a cat can't be trained. They can! A cat who hits the wall a few times learns not to claw you in the night! I taught her to come to me when called. Also to sit. Then there was the ordeal of her being attacked outside by the evil cat dubbed "Taliban" by me. This cat kicked EB's ass royally several times. The last time resulting in surgery for a bite that became infected. But E.B.'s spirit is such that she would still take on Taliban today were she still let outside. Instead the garage has become her jungle to explore and use the litter box. As far as I can tell this is just as good to her. Yes she is fearless despite all logic and I admire and learn from that. And that attitude! She has something to say about whatever you are doing. She "talks" non-stop to you and "at you" anytime you enter her "presence". She purrs so loud you can't hear the TV. Brash, lively, loud and always making her feelings known, that's the mighty E.B. But the real point of this is not to point out what E.B. has learned from me but what I have learned from her. Not only am I now a cat fan, I consider E.B.'s presence essential to my daily happiness and routine. My preconceived prejudices against cats as being aloof and too independent to love were stupid and misplaced. It makes me wonder how many other things in the world I hold such misplaced notions of and what I miss because of it. We must never be afraid of being proven wrong or having our mind changed. I know the lifespan of the Mighty E.B. is finite but I know that for my own lifespan I will always make sure that there is a fiestly little feline running around to keep me in line.

Here to you E.B.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level