Cheer for the West Nile Virus [ 2003-08-13, 6:03 a.m. ]

Today's entry will contain no cohesive theme or tone (like they ever do). Instead it will be a bold foray into a freeform diary style. In other words I only have bits and pieces of thought and things might get choppy so fasten your seat belt, batten down the hatches and hold on to what ya got.

I woke up this morning with Ratt's "Round and Round" in my head, they being of 80's metal-hair band fame. I hate this band and song. I figure it was my brain doing some sort of self-mutilation thing. I can assure you that had this demonic clatter continued in my head, I would by now be looking for the easiest way to off myself to make it stop. As if by divine intervention, during my drive to work, I was punching though radio stations and I happened upon a fave song. I'm embarrassed to admit it, but it was *gasp* a country song. Bear in mind that I am no country fan or even close to a country fan (with the exception of some of the hotter chicks but that has nothing to do with the music) BUT I do like Dwight Yoakum (sp? hooked on phonics worked for me!) and the song was "a thousand miles from nowhere". It blessedly replaced the hair-sprayed noise in my head and all is well. I could even buy a CD by him and like it. But I don't know. As you thumb through my collection and you have The Clash, The Replacements, and then....eh. I might as well have a Dolly Parton CD in there they way it stops the smooth flow of my musical taste! ahem.

Also as mentioned last week, the "Trivia Dream Team" is a reality. And tonight we go to face our hated enemy "Jammin' Bread" (bunch of hippy deadhead types I bet). We have chosen from thousands of applicants the best people from all over to become this superstar trivia team. Oh, okay, we are dragging anyone we can find there. But still since we were only a couple of answers off anyway surely this will push us over the top. We do need a name though. One that instills the proper fear and dread from the other teams. That's why I propose the we become the "West Nile Virus". That's right, the death you don't see until it bites you in the ass.

Also I would be quite remiss were I not to wish the happiest of birthdays to my good friend grlenamored my favorite Aussie friend. Technically, she is my only Aussue friend but I am sure that in no way dimishes the honor of that title for her at all.

Oh no! Mentioning the dreaded Ratt song has put it back in my head. Damn. This isn't good. Well if you don't hear from me again, you know what happened. Pray for me.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level