Showdown at high noon [ 2003-08-12, 4:40 p.m. ]

What a day, what a day.

I had to endure a 2 1/2 hour meeting with all the managers. Basically, it's a everyone sit and bitch meeting. Except me. I refuse to play. I give a five minute summation of the things my department is doing positive and then I shutup. The numbers show I am kicking names and taking ass...er...BUT the bottom line will do my talking baybee.

However there was one point when I could not help but jump in the fray when a woman (she has little love for your humble correspondent, nor I for her) was going on ad nauseum about how the security guard hung out on only one side of the building when ONE person who came in on the other side had to so without that benefit.

The answer appeared obvious to me....

GP: Umm. Why can't she simply park with the others and then come in and go up the elevator, it's not really any further..

Total Biotch: *ignoring me* so yeah, if he could drive around the building a few times he could watch both entrances.

GP: ...and he could also miss BOTH by being in motion the whole time..

Total Biotch: snorts my way and continues talking without looking at me, "so we'd feel a lot better if you could have the guard make the switch."

The Big Cheese: No, I think gutterpoet has the common sense answer. She can park around front as well if she is concerned for her security.

Score one for rational thinking!

Of course total biotch gave me that "I will f' you up one day mister" look. But eh, I gave her that "bring it on then" look right back.

Office politics, sheesh. I think I have learned the secret is to pick your fights carefully and otherwise try to stay below the radar screen. Oh yeah and definitely stay out of inter-office scandalous romances. That'll get ya everytime.

Be an enigma, a mystery and things will go much smoother. Actually that works well in dating too, but that's a whole other entry.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level