Does Miss Manners run? [ 2003-08-07, 9:39 p.m. ]

It's all about manners you know. During my evening run on the trail, I pass people coming the other way as well as passing people who are walking or running slower. Does one just pass without any notice of the other person?

Some people try to stare at the ground as they pass so as not to have face this dilemma. Others look off to the side, but then kind of try to sneak a look out of the corner of their eyes as they pass. Some do speak or grunt or make whatever noise they can in their out of breath state .

I decided some time back to acknowlege all that I encounter. To make a stand for civility in this cold, uncaring world! To the other polite people, I am in line with them. To the "avoiders", I force them to face their lack of manners. Usually, I am wearing a baseball hat. I take my hand and touch the brim and slighty nod, thus showing polite acknowlegement of the person I am passing.

However, today I didn't have the usual baseball cap on. Well, I can't stop my habit now, can I? In fact by now there are familiar characters I pass who are used to my good manners. I tried different things. At first I just nodded as I passed. Hmmm. That didn't feel right. Next I tried to say "hey" and make quick eye contact. This freaked people out as I was somewhat out of breath and my voice sounded like an obscene phone caller.

Finally, I tried a sort of hand gesture where my hat might be and put a little swirlish finish on the motion. Hard to do while running. The end result was I looked like a 18th century fop trying to hail a cab.

The answer?

Just wear your baseball hat next time dumbass.

Goodnight.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level