a white-collar suburbanite whines [ 2003-07-15, 6:45 a.m. ]

Tick, Tock. The countdown to Chicago and a few days out of this insane asylum is on.

I fly out Sunday a.m. and return next Friday evening. I cannot wait. True I do have to sit through a couple days of meetings but some of it is fun and I will of course make my own fun too. They have a vendor fair tues evening. This is cool because they have lots of food and open bar. I became quite the silly-drunken moron last year. And I won one of the give-aways from dropping my business card in drawings.

On Thursday I am going to a Cubs game at friggin' Wrigley Field! This is like a childhood dream for me. I will be out there in the sunshine eating hotdogs and drinking mucho beer and screaming at the opposing team. Hell, just to leave my mark I may run naked onto the field at some point. Of course the vendors will likely cut me off before I have THAT much to drink. But if you are watching Sports Center that night and they show some highlight of an insane drunken fan from Wrigley, well it could be yours truly.

But most of all I need a break from the whole selling and buying of houses thing. The current house is now officially on the market. Of course now with everything fixed and looking sharp I don't want to leave! But the house I am pretty sure I will likely sign a contract on in mere days is the shiote.

There will be so much room I won't know what to do with it all. I mean in the current house there was enough room (the dog even has her own room) but little storage except the garage. This one is three bedroom plus an above ground basement with four rooms studded out and a bathroom ready to be finished. I can have theme rooms or something! And the living room and kitchen are as big as my whole current house I think. But now I will have room to be prepared for the future and whatever it brings.

But I won't miss the evenings filled with packing and getting the yard looking just so and not leaving a dirty dish out lest the agent show the house while I'm at work. Bleh.

So bring on the Windy City, The City of Big Shoulders. At this point it seems like paradise to me.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level