Ready to play Vegas [ 2003-07-30, 6:01 a.m. ]

So my big moment for the day was unintentional.

In the break room groggily getting a cup of quite sub-par coffee, a co-worker asks me a question. The kicker is that it's one of those moments when you sort of hear the words but can't quite make them out. I sorta think she says "are you ready for the day?" but it could also be "are you already gay?" or "ta-rah-rah-booms-deay!" for all I know. In response I mumble "yeah boy, can't wait". The table of people with her burst out in an assortment of chuckles and guffaws. Though not in that "what a moron, he didn't get the question" way but in a "that boy be so crazy and funny" way. I don't know.

It was like suddenly I was on stage, said my punch line, the lights come up as the audience goes wild, the band jumps into song and Jay motions me over to the couch. I don't know why this was so uproarious and further more I don't care. In this life you take your good moments and walk on without looking back I say.

But if you are like me there are so many times when you just nod politely or smile when someone says something you don't quite hear or understand. You might say "pardon me?" once or so but at a certain point you just try to get out of it. Now if it's a friend I'd say "how about talking out of your mouth instead of your arse this time" but with strangers you just nod to anything to get by. I never ended up like Seinfeld and the "low talker" and had to wear a puffy shirt yet, but it's just a matter of time.

In other news, last night was the wonderful, tearful reunion between me and my truck. Warranty covered the replacement of a "speed sensor" and all seems well. I walked out paying for only my oil change happy as a friggin clam.

It appears the contract offer on the new house has been accepted by the builder now I just have to unload the old house. But since agents are starting to call about bringing people over I figure the momentum is looking good. But what a pain to have to make the bed, pick up my underwear, don't leave empty wine bottles lying around etc. every day in case they show the house. Soon this whole thing will be over....I hope..

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level