Here's a penny kid, now leave me alone [ 2004-06-07, 7:18 a.m. ]

There is something that you see around Atlanta this time of year that just drives me beserk. You can't pull up to a red light without being surrounding by kids or parents or those old dudes with tassles on their hats, standing there holding a bucket for donations. Sometimes they have a sign saying it's for a baseball team or church group or whathaveyou, sometimes they don't even bother with that.

Besides the danger of having kids out in the middle of a busy intersection, aren't you just turning them into beggars? It seems like it used to be that you would at least offer a carwash or candy or some useless household thing to sell to raise money. We've all had to troop around our neighborhoods trying to sell old Mr. Jones "gourmet popcorn". In fact, do girl scouts even sell their own cookies anymore? I've bought them at work from parents, but I can't tell you the last time I saw an actual girl scout.

Even worse, they give you that look of scorn and "how dare you!" if you refuse to hand over money to these donation bandits. Hell, at least the homeless downtown wipe your windshield with a dirty rag for a buck, there is some effort at earning the money made.

I swear I'm going to have to put up a "no solicitation" sign on my freakin truck!

*puts on a cardigan and assumes crotchety old man face scrunch and hoarse, gravel-like voice*

When I was a kid and I wanted money I had to mow a yard or clean a garage or delivery papers or steal from my parents "money drawer", I had to earn it dammit! If my parents saw me on the streets like a beggar they would have whipped my ass like there was no tomorrow. In fact I had to work in a coal mine 8 hours a day after school, because they ran out of canaries, just to have milk money. But we were happy for what we had and we didn't complain!!

*takes off cardigan and hacks up lung after doing gravel voice for too long*

Anyway, I refuse to support this crap. The next kid who gives me a dirty look because I won't hand over money so he can go to Rodeo Clown camp will receive a "bite my ass kid" look right back. Welcome to the real world kiddo.

When I take office I'm outlawing suburban begging first thing. Okay, maybe second thing. Topless tuesday is my first edict. Then the begging thing.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level