an entry using the word pap. [ 2004-04-06, 8:49 a.m. ]

I have to say the FCC may have helped me out actually.

The suspension of my fave morning drive radio show by ClearChannel (due to fears of FCC action over a bit they did) has led me to pursue other morning drive options. And they suck.

Most of them are so banal it's sickening. Nothing but cliche's and overused pop culture idioms ad nauseum. Or they encourage the great unwashed to call in with "your most zany date moments!" or some such pap. They don't have one or two people on the "team" anymore but about a dozen! Mostly they seem to provide a laugh track for the predictable, well worn jokes. After the 20 minute bit on Britany this or that, the lead person will launch a cheese-filled joke and the gathered ensemble cackle and squeal like crack-addled chimps (no offense to crack-addled chimps). And the perkiness level is so high that I find myself wishing violent death and/or mayhem would descend upon them.

Then you have the "cutting edge aimed at 20-somethings" drive teams. Full of "crazy" stunts and hip slang from the early 90's they are "wild and unpredictable" and since you might not notice otherwise they remind you of this fact every five minutes.

So I have ventured back to my CD storage bin, knocked off the dust that looks like snow cover, and I am playing my neglected CD's again. Today was Lit's "A Place in the Sun". I sang and screamed and pumped my fist and likely appeared spastic, and merrily made my way to work.

And that's a good thing. This won't stop me from recording anti-gov diartibes this summer with my band "Rage against the FCC" (formerly known as Rage against the Washing Machine") however. Even a stopped clock is right twice a day.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level