Time is on my side...or like a thorn in it. [ 2004-04-05, 7:26 a.m. ]

My gawd.

Every clock I own, or use anywhere, is set for a different time. I have no friggin idea what time it is. It's beyond freaky at the house. As they are still doing a lot of construction in our sub, the power will go off for whatever reason fairly often. It's then that you realize just how many damn clocks you have. The stove has one, the microwave, the DVD player, the wall clocks, the alarm clocks, in my vehicles, watches, the coffee maker, the lion the witch and the wardrobe. (huh?). But when the power is out I have to reset all of these. And I am not afraid to admit that some of things are so f'ing complicated I CAN'T set them to save my life. I have to wait for the Sig Ot to arrive sometimes to set some of these things. (see we men can admit we need women!). Last week the power went out again long enough to screw the clocks up. Since it would require a vacation day for me to have enough to time to reset all the clocks, I set the one by my bed and made sure the tv timer thing was set and said the hell with it.

The result is that as you walk from the kitchen the kitchen it could be 3:00 or 5 or 6. As if each appliance is in a different time zone. It's very disorienting. And no wonder I'm stressed, I can't sit or stand or turn or go to the little boys room, without a flashing reminder of what time it is staring me right in the eyes, my bloodshot, pollenated eyes.

And oh how the clocks drive us and bully us and destroy us. Last night,I, the stupid human, was on the couch sleepily watching tv, dead tired. Why? Because it was only 9:15 by the clock and I don't go to bed until 10:00ish. You can't fool a canine however. I looked around at one point to find the dog and couldn't. She had got up and went to bed. She knew that yesterday it was bedtime and she could give a shiote about daylight savings or whatever a LED display says. It was bedtime.

One day I hope to be as smart as my dog.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level