The march of the neutered turkeys [ 2005-01-03, 5:24 p.m. ]

I think it's possible my brain is still struggling to get used to this new rarified 2005 air. Yeah...
This morning I had a glorius "managers meeting", my workplaces' monthly meeting of the mindless. I learned a long time ago that actual thought and ideas are rarely welcomed and never understood. Therefore when it's my turn to speak, I just go with my list of 1001 cliches of the workplace. Can't fail, always goes over well. But as I mentioned, the old noggin is just mailin' it in so far this year I think.
I informed the group that my department was "leaving no STONER unturned" to cut spending. Then I mentioned how we were "making every effort to make every effort" to do the same. Ouch. The sad part is no one actually noticed either brain fart. If a brain farts and no one smells it, well..does it still stink? All assembled just smiled blankly at my golden tounged oration as if it was the most compelling speech in the history of man.
Also either I am going tee-totally blind or yet another monitor is dying on me. My desk is where monitors go to die. My original blew up in July. Did I get a new one? nope. But I got the person who got a new one's hand me down! Woo-hoo! Then it started shrinking until it blew as well in December. It would work only after being beaten mightily on the right side. Finally, I had performed all the monitor CPR that I could and it was pronounced dead on December 18th. RIP.
A tiny assed 13 inch screen was then brought in for me to use. The damned thing is also losing screen size and is getting blurry as all get out. It's on it's last pixels for sure.
So am I getting a new one now? Nope. I am getting the hand me down of the NEXT person getting a new monitor. Well, that is if I don't go blind first from staring at this one all day. Then I can switch to the Helen Keller model monitor.
I have decided I could be the worst video game player in history. I just don't think I have the coordination or something. Playing the Sig Ot's X-box last night, I tried the Top Spin tennis game she likes so much and is so good at. You create your own player down to looks and outfit (one of the big attractions for her). I am happy to report that my player sucks royally and loses badly. His skills seem a bit special ed. But, I did manage to make him quite hot. I think as a tennis pro looking the way he does, he might not score much on the court, but he'd score off of it! And I think that is just the type of tennis pro I'd like to be.
Speaking of sports, Go Hokies!! Beat the hell out of Auburn!!
Hokie, Hokie, Hokie, Hi!!
Win, win, win VPI!!
Yeah, it's a really bad fight song, and the mascot is a neutered turkey technically, but you watch we'll overcome all that stuff!
Over and out.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level