the japanese tried to get me drunk [ 2003-06-21, 6:51 a.m. ]

Saturday morning what a concept.

I find myself at that sort of middling point where last night's alcohol is mostly gone yet this morning coffee has not kicked. My body waits patiently for the next liquid to alter it.

Went last night to see "The Italian Job" which though I was skeptical turned out to be pretty decent entertainment. It reminded me of those old school action/suspense movies from the 70's or something. And of course had the lovely Charlize Theron (I am sure I mangled that spelling) in it and there ain't nothing wrong with that.

Then we went to a Japanese steak house. I always enjoy these places, but man are they all the same or what? Is there a handbook they give out when they hire you or are the same three jokes all that the Japanese know? I dunno but it was obvious the waitress was trying to get me drunk as the pint size Sapparro's kept appearing whether I said yes or no to her question. I think I love her now.

On the way home last night I listened to actual music instead of talk radio (I know, I know) and it seems to me that there are a shioteload of songs these days about "flying". I wanna fly, I believe I can fly, fly fly away, fly like an eagle. Why all this obsession with flying? What has it done for birds? That's right, half of them are headed for extinction! Think about that next time you want to "fly away" Mr. Lenny Kravitz.

Also while I am getting musical thoughts off my chest, the next time anyone, anywhere launches into "Somewhere over the rainbow" I am headed to a tower with a gun and people are going to die. Every friggin' amateur on tv these days sings this song. I can only imagine that it happens in karaoke (another mangled spelling, coffee please kick in soon) across this country every day, this song being sung over and over. No wonder the murder rate is up.

Well I'm off to hike with the mongrel at the mountain this morning. It's actually not raining for the first time in months! I realize looking back this entry would have been so much better if I had stopped after the first line. hmmm. Too late now.

Saturday morning what a concept.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level