Under attack [ 2003-06-16, 6:00 a.m. ]

Just minutes after typing an entry about animals and insects being out to get us all Saturday, yep, I had an incident.

I was mowing the grass at the palacial estate and became aware at some point that an insect had bitten me. Of course I was sweating profusely in the heat and humidity that is Georgia this time of the year, so I really couldn't tell for sure what had happened or if sweat was just stinging my eyes. I finished the yard and went inside and looked in a mirror to see what was going on with my face. I was horrified to see a silver dollar sized discolored area on my forehead swelling like an alien was about to pop out of it. I just shook my head and continued on with my chores. Then the palms of my hands and my feet and my ears started burning and itching like there was no tomorrow. At this point I was actually getting a bit concerned. I took a Benadryl and a shower and then rested a few minutes and the burning and itching subsided. My forehead still looked rather neanderthal but I thought I had at least stabilized the situation. In retrospect my next move was likely ill-advised (if one reads the story of my life you will see that phrase is used a lot). I had promised to take the dog for a hike. Now while I have no problem playing fast and loose with promises to humans, my word to my dog is a solemn vow.

So off we go to the mountain. I am feeling fine really though it seems like something keeps getting in my eyes. A couple of miles away from my truck I realize my eyes are swelling shut! Nikki and I pick up the pace since I am dubious about her abilities of being a guide dog for the blind. When I got to my truck and a mirror I looked like Rocky does at the end of the big fight in every Rocky movie.

Luckily I had brought ice for our water and I put that on my eyes until the swelling subsided a bit. Finally yesterday the swelling was gone.

I don't know which creature attacked me or what it's beef with me is, but I would like to assure it that I am ready to sign a peace treaty at all costs.

On a better note, I kicked much arse on the golf course yesterday.

Good day.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level