The Gutterpoet debates Aristotle [ 2003-08-06, 7:32 a.m. ]

The quote in question from Aristotle:

"The quality of life is determined by it's activities"

GP: Sir, I find your statement to be highly irritating. It's one of those supposedly lofty quotes that are rammed down our throats constantly to elevate the quality of our pitiful little lives. It is meaningless.

Stotle: Sir, I appreciate your thoughts but I believe my quote is quite profound really when one thinks about it. What one chooses to do with ones time very much dictates the worth of that life.

GP: You mean like you and your sex with your male slaves? Something like that?

Stotle: I believe sir, you have me confused with other ancient philosophers.

GP: It's all Greek to me! hehheh. ahem..Anyway then, what of the people who pick up the trash, the work with trash are you saying their life is well , trash when these are hard working people who earn good money often.

Stotle: Indeed I am not, that one toils honorably at a trade is not the point I tried to make. It would pertain to what you do with your leisure time. Do you read the classics or do you go whoring in the city and lying amoung the lowlies.

GP: I like to drink beer and watch baseball games. Who has the time to go whoring in the city these days?

Stotle: You are a strange young man, but you seem to have some cleverness about you. I should urge you to study the teachings of the ages so that you might be a more enlightened person.

GP: You mean like this quote? It is quite subjective. Why are you the definer of quality? Is not that I have reached a station in life where I can sit and watch baseball and drink a beer, which is my idea of quality, an achievement of note and worth?

Stotle: No sir that is not true. The Scions of each generation, the nobility if you will, are the determiners of "quality" for every generation. The highest common denominator should set the standards not the lowest.

GP: Big talk for a man who wears a skirt and sandals.

Stotle: Again, it is a shame you choose such course forms of conversation. My generation uplifted the world, and now the harlots and ploughmen have drenched society with their dregs.

GP: Bite me.

Yes the Gutterpoet is the clear winner hands down.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level