Mother's Day and hair by tupperware [ 2003-05-11, 7:40 a.m. ]

Well it's early, it's a Sunday, I have a slight hangover headache, so I'm a bit mellowed out I guess you could say. Since this blank page appears daring to me write something, I'll allow myself to wax without regard for cohesion or theme for a bit.

Mothers Day. And a very happy one to any Mothers who veer this way. On the surface one of those dreamed up by the Hallmark's of the world sort of holidays but I prefer not to be totally crass about this one. The end effect is that slackers like me will at least do the right thing and honor the person who gave birth to you. I'll send my package of goodies across the miles and make a phone call, whereas any other Sunday I'm just a son who lives 400 odd miles away doing his own thing.

I think unfortunately in our busy lives these days that if we didn't have holidays and occassions we'd never even make time to see our families. Or maybe I just watched too many Waltons episodes when I was growing up, where the family is all up in every member's kool-aide all the time. Maybe I resented being told when younger I looked like freakin' John Boy. John Boy! He is a dufus totalius maximus (wow mock Latin, what an entry this will make...). Yes, hated the John Boy comparisons, although I did sport the bowl, hair by tupperware cut during my childhood way too often.

Okay, I didn't just get side-tracked there, I got derailed. Thus, I'll do myself a favor and take this train wreck brain and talk to the dog and the cat who love every monologue as long as the word "treat" appears in it somewhere.

Happy Mother's Day to all!

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level