Flag Fracas Friday [ 2003-05-09, 9:03 a.m. ]

It's Flag Fracas Friday.

While this is something of a local issue to us here in Georgia, this story had national interest I am quite sure.

When I first moved to Ga (I'm a native of Virginia)the first thing that struck me was this confederate flag thing pasted all over the place. I come to find out that this is the actual state flag! Where the hell did I move? Now don't get me wrong, the great state of Va is indeed southern and though I don't sport a particuarily southern accent I am indeed a southerner. I was used to seeing morons with a confederate flag bumper sticker saying "the south is gonna do it again!" (do what again? get our ass kicked?") in Va here and there, but this place was crazy with such sentiment. But you get used to it and the shock goes away.

Well along comes the controversy a couple of years later. Rightfully so, minority groups had a problem with the flag. And while I agree a state flag is a stupid thing to begin with, still you really might as well have had a guy in a white hood and a swasticka monogrammed on the dam thing. Plus it was not the traditional flag it was enacted in the 1950's.

If you ask me simply go back to whatever the flag was in 1780 or whatever like most states still have. But they didn't ask me, nor the people of Georgia. And blowhard, used car salesmanish Gov. Barnes in a typical liberal flourish simply mandated a new one himself, designed to offend no one and make everyone happy. This of course means it led to a goshdarn ugly as sin flag that made no one happy. It sort of looked like a placemat at a cheesy diner in bum f*** nowheresville.

This dictatorial action likely leads to Barnes defeat last year. The new Republican Gov who's only good quality is not being slimey Barnes as far as I can ascertain takes over. This "short bus riding" looking gent who also proposes to raise our taxes, (including a sin tax on alcohol may he burn in hell if he does!) calls for a vote on what flag should be used. This causes great uproar from all sides. Then he strangely pulls a Barnes and says here use this flag, the old pre-kkkish flag, no vote by the people etc.

Now this is a pretty good looking flag except for (insert menacing dumdedummdumm background music)for the words "In God we trust". Oh dear now they've upset those who pray to oak trees. I can personally take or leave that on there but I am sure this will really piss off the ACLU, who are always at the ready for such challenges.

But I just wish this all to end and I have the perfect solution. I thought first about a blank flag you could write on and draw whatever. But that would be white and obviously rascist. Maybe a picture of a map of Georgia? No, that would offend those from other states who's shape may not be as attractive as Georgia's. And on and on into politically correct ad nauseum.

So the perfect solution, you ask? A plastic, clear flag! Basically a clear zip lock bag on a stick.

Sometimes you just have to laugh at the lunacy around you.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level