...like a king on his throne [ 2003-06-06, 7:05 a.m. ]

I have made the most incredible discovery at work. Something that makes my workday a little more tolerable. But let me start at the beginning.

Some of this will involve things not normally discussed in "polite" company so I will be as refined as possible during my narrative.

One morning I had a situation where nature was calling. I proceeded to the nearest restroom and found that is was currently occupied. "No biggie" thought I, I would just simply come back. I must point out that the building I work in is a four story building of which my company is the primary occupant. The building is only about three years old and slowly filling up with other tenants, but for now the fourth floor is totally unoccupied.

Anyway, I next took the elevator to my third floor stock room to check stock levels etc. As I arrived on third floor, what had been a fairly gentle call of nature suddenly had nature screaming and yelling and stomping on the floor. There was no more waiting. "No biggie" again thought I. I would simply use the restroom on this floor. This too was however occupied. This was now a "biggie". Getting back to the first floor would take a minute or two that I sensed I did not have and then could still be occupied to boot.

As you can see I had quite the dilemma. Maybe it was the pain I was currently starting to experience and sheer desperation that inspired the next brilliant move, I don't know. The empty fourth floor! I ran down the hall, full speed my blonde locks flowing in the breeze as I hit the steps full stride with the agility of an Olympic sprinter. Okay, well I ran like hell anyway.

As I rounded the corner on the fourth floor and flung open the door and there it was in front of me. A pristine, palacial paradise! I felt as the first explorers must have when they landed in the New World.

Having finished the needed ummm. transaction, I then looked around at my discovery. It was twice the size of my bathroom at home. All the needed supplies were stocked in abundance. So the cleaning people came in even if the floor is not used. As the days went by and I continued to visit what I now considered my private retreat, I wondered if indeed it was all mine. I cleverly took some Scotch tape and put the strip across the door to see if was opened between my visits. A week of testing proved no one except the cleaning people twice a week crossed the threshold into my special place. I've begun taking one of the extra newspapers we are delivered up there in the morning to be ready should the need arise. If I could install a refrigerator and a TV I would never leave the place.

I don't know how long this will last, eventually an office will appear on my deserted floor but in the meantime I will enjoy my "Camp David" and the serenity and peacefulness it brings me.

Remember in life, it's the simple things that bring one pleasure.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level