a confession my pretty. [ 2003-03-07, 7:26am ]

I must for a moment turn the glare of the bright lights that I normally turn on the rest of the world and shine them back on myself. I have something to say that makes me nearly an outcast from the rest of society. I've never seen the "Wizard of Oz". What's more, I have no desire to. Why, you ask? Being a bit of a precocious child (although some might say I still fit that definition) during my formative years, I disdained many of the "hokey" elements of childhood entertainment. A lavish muscial then, as now, will engender a roll of the eyes from yours truly.

Now to the crux of this narrative. Yesterday I had a run-in on this issue and this is not the first time it has happened, believe me. One of the young ladies up at the reception area has a stiff neck and I had just been up there making my usual "bring down the house" comic remarks about it. A bit later one of them calls back and ask if I had some WD-40 (since I am a materials manager it is assumed that somewhere I have a stash of everything that exists in the world). So being the great comedian I am, I asked if it was for Melissa's neck, was she like the "Tinman" or something needing the WD-40. Okay so it's not earth shattering humor, but...it did get huge laughs over the phone. So minutes later I was up there again and the chatter about the Wizard started and I commented that although I had used the hip/pop culturish joke about the tinman, I had never seen the movie. Michael Jackson admitting to sleeping with children was nothing compared to the stir this caused. People were called in and informed of this stunning confession. At some point there was 10 plus people who gathered with the ongoing commotion intensely questioning me as to what was wrong with me. I expected at any moment to be stripped and dragged through the streets and beaten by this angry mob. Forced at gunpoint maybe and toothpicks placed on my eyelids as I was forced to watch the Wizard over and over. As the mob grew in size I hit the ground and crawled to the safety of my underground bunker-ish office.

Where is the crime people? I can still reference the stupid movie anyway. I know the "off to see the Wizard, because, because, because.." song and the ruby friggin' shoes, no place like home, no place like home, ooohweeeohhh, ohhhhooo, follow the yellow brick road, follow the yellow road, I'm melllltingggg...

See there, I can talk the talk. I know that Judy Garland was in it and went on to become a bizarre, weird, drunken lady who gave birth to Liza who became another weird drunken lady.

I swear as The Diaryland Servers are my witness, that I will go to my grave having never seen the movie. I want that fact on my tombstone in bold lettering. Peer pressure? I don't fear any of you.

Not even the Wicked Witch of the North! or was that West? South? Whatever.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level