Lint for Lent [ 2003-03-05, 6:58am ]

Although not Catholic or even the really textbook religious sort, I try every year regardless to give up something for the Lent season. Mostly because I find the whole idea of fufillment through self-denial to be oh so interesting. Last year I gave up viewing "racey" images on the internet. Although that was too easy really because I'll go days and weeks without doing that anyway.

This year my first idea was the catchy No Lint for Lent idea. Exciting wordplay right? But the more I thought of it the more I realized that trying to rid myself and my house of lint would be a monsterish achievement and I am also not sure that there are any self-denial qualities about lint for me. Hmmm. Lentils for Lent. But I can't recall the last time I even had a lentil. Sex? Oh no way, not even if directed to do so by a burning bush (okay I'll stop the cheap thrill wordplay for Lent maybe, sorry).

Something in the food realm might be the ticket. Nothing that will adversely affect my health but something still important to me. Ahhh! Cheeseburgers. That will hurt. No drive thru cheeseburgers no home grilled burgers, none, nada, zilch.

I think that I will emerge from this period of self-denial a new person.

I'll be updating my journey to a higher religious plane and maybe lower cholesterol!

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level