the walls of babble on [ 2004-12-02, 11:45 a.m. ]

I babble on and on it seems all day in a series of emails and phone calls and you name it. And then I post more babble here. I think I may be all babbled out for the day. So I will steal from an earlier babbling in an email to my good friend T.D. from the UK. I was replying to the idea that truthfulness was a dying ideal and endlessly babbled on and on as per usual.
**As to your response of people being taken for their word anymore...I
believe it's a dying art to be sure. Once, your word was what made or
broke you. People fought duels to their death to defend that honor.
If you were known as being untruthful you were done right then and
there. This lasted until quite near our present times. But why the
change? I theorize that it's because the truth doesn't always make us
feel good about ourselves. Modern pop psychology is all about sugar
coating ourselves and what we are. If a person weighs 500lbs you
can't say "hey you're fat, stop eating!" Obviously, they say, it's
not the fact that this person shoveled in the food 24/7 that made this
happen, it was not his fault, his Mom was cruel and society did this
blah blah blah. So we become accustomed to dancing around the truth
and ignoring the truth to such a degree that it's value has been
stripped away. You can't tell the truth anymore for fear of upsetting
the friggin' apple cart.
Therefore those who stand up and call a spade a spade are made to be
insensitive crazed pariahs in our society. Now I will not try to sit
here and say that I am some sort of paragon of the truth (who is going
to call themselves a liar?) BUT this old punk rock Clash follower is
generally known for being often abrasive and blunt, but alas, seems
to be in line with the truth to the best of his ability (sorry to go
third person there, I normally hate that) as was the very crux of the
original punk spirit. This has made me lose friends and aquaintances,
since so many "open minded" people seem only open minded when you kiss
their ass and agree with everything they say. Oh well, good riddance
in that case.
But the truth makes people uncomfortable and makes them face things
they don't want to face and at least for right now in our history
that's too high a price to pay.**
yeah well anyway. I never said it was a great commentary or anything!
But one thing is for certain I do tend to have a big mouth and can be blunt and those are not good qualities in our society. If you dare to point out the very obvious and it goes against the tres chic sensibilities du jour, why you should be jailed!!
Now look! I managed to babble on beyond my borrowed babble. Is there no way of stopping this babble?
Why it appears there is not!
Babblingly yours,
gutterpoet

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level