being stalked orally [ 2004-09-30, 7:21 a.m. ]

Welcome to my own personal age of aquarius. I'm up yet another pill to take now. Mmmmm. drugs are good. mmmkay?
It's a well known fact that the strangest shiote always happens to one, Gutterpoet. When I gather with friends, it doesn't take long until numerous stories of the weirdness that surrounds me, start flowing amidst much merriment.
Here's yet another.
My dentist is stalking me.
That's right. I WISH I was making this up. Last Feb or so, I went to a new dentist I had just selected as my insurance changed for the 100th time in a year or something.
So I went, had my appt., all was well, everything looked good.
I made the six month follow-up for August. As August drew closer and became so busy for me, I called to reschedule. The best they could do was mid-October. Fine by me, I have no teeth issues at current.
Right about the time of my original appt, I received a call from the dentist's office. Would I like to take an opening they had that day? I explained that the reasons I postponed the original appt. still existed and that no, thanks but no thanks, see you in October. I was as nice as I could be.
The next day they call my cell again. I tried again to be nice and further explained my job was not one I could just take off from with short notice. Later that day they called my home number. The next day? Yep, they called my cell. I didn't answer, they didn't leave a message.
That was pretty freaky and all, but I figured it had run it's course. I figured quite wrong. Over the past month I have had these people call me some 10 times either at home or on my cell. No messages left, just calling me.
What in the hell is going on here?
Yes, my teeth are indeed as she said during my Feb check up, "beautiful" but does that warrant being stalked like this? I've had less harrassment from clinically insane ex-girlfriends than this!
Just yesterday I again received a call from her office. I am not sure if I can go back there again. I just feel kind of creeped out at this point, ya know? It's like my dentist and I had our first date and everything went great. I fully intended a second date but was a bit busy and had to postpone it. Then the dentist gets all clingy and insecure and thinks there is something wrong and freaks out. I think my dentist is a bit "needy".
I think the only proper thing to do is to just be up front and tell my dentist at my next appt that I don't think it's going to work for me. I'll give my usual little speech.
"I just don't think this is going to work out. It's not you, really it isn't, I just think we are looking for different things in our dental relationship. You're a great dentist and any person with a tooth-ache or absess, would be lucky to have you. Damned lucky. We can still talk about flouride and flossing sometime if you like, but I just don't think it's a good idea that you stick your instruments in my mouth anymore. And we can still be friends, really we can."
And of course I'll wait until the appt is over to say this.
You know what they say about a dentist scorned.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level