Rationale du jour [ 2004-10-27, 7:40 a.m. ]

I have received more than a few emails from friends regarding my endorsement of Kerry. I based this endorsement on the grounds that I will enjoy mocking him more than Bush, since bashing Bush is a tired cliche' at this point.
This I am told is a "selfish, short-sighted rationale". Well, duh. Do you not know me at all? It's always about me.
I was also challenged to come up with any reasonable rationale for this other than my own pleasure. I will indulge those friends here and now.
Why? Because gridlock in Washington works.
The two most successful Presidents in the last fifty years were Reagan and Clinton. What did these two men have in common? A congress that was controlled by the other party.
Why, just look at Billy Bob Clinton. In '94 the Repugnicans swept into congress. He couldn't get his agenda through and then he, in turn, vetoed many a bill from congress. Ever the clever one, he did sign a couple, like Welfare reform and then when it was hugely successful he claimed credit for it. But mostly it was stand-off that resulted in little or no major legislation. And of course, the less government ties we the people's hands the better we all are off. The dot com boom swelled the Stock Market to overflowing and the treasury overflowed and all was well. Mind you, Clinton continued to ignore terroristic activities like the first World Trace Center attempt but hey, none of us took the wacky Islamic extremists seriously to be able to pull off a 9/11. I'll give him a pass there. But all in all the success was owing to little or no change, dot com boom and the great way he had of making people feel good about everything. Gridlock and Billy Bob were a good combo.
Now since 2000 the Bushwhacker has had mostly a congress of his own party. And the result? Eegads. The Patriot Act, the TSA debacle, and rampant run-away spending with congress rubber stamping his every whim.
2004. The Senate will certainly be a Repugnican majority, and likely the House as well. Therefore a Kerry win could equal gridlock, sweet gridlock. The American economy left alone by out of control new regulations and that crap Kerry calls policy not able to pass, will take off all on it's own. And we'll all laugh all the way to the bank.
Even better, despite Kerry starting every sentence with "I have a plan" the truth is he really seems to have no actual plans. This just makes the pot even sweeter. Bless him for that.
Truly, I believe him to be a foreign policy risk and ready to massage the dangly bits of the crooked and guileless King Kofi. But I believe that the murderous Islamic extremists, will, no matter who is President push us so far in the next few years that there will be no question but to get them. Even if the French and Germans are on the payroll of others like they were Saddam, when it happens in their backyard (and it will)they will be unable to ignore it any longer. I fear the next few years will be horrific at times for the Western World. But only devastation will get the world to team up against this horrible evil.
Anyway, there. I have explained my gridlock theory and therefore created a rationale for my endorsement.
Mind you, I can't actually in good conscious vote for the man. But I think with a heavy turnout he will actually win.
Please feel free to email me with any and all thoughts as I LOVE debate.
Over and out party people.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level