Who'll stop the rain? Me, I guess. [ 2004-08-12, 8:06 a.m. ]

If she heard the "call of the wild" my dog wouldn't answer.

In fact she has seemingly lost all semblance of connection to her non-domesticated ancestors.

She stays inside probably 75% of the time, hanging out in the AC. If it's too hot outside she just looks at you like you're crazy if you try to put her out. She has TWO dog beds, one in the living room, one in the bedroom to stretch out and snooze on.

This morning we were awaken to some storms moving through with a pretty steady rain. I got up and la pup eagerly headed to the back door, ready to greet the early morning, tail wagging excitedly. However, as I opened the door she peeked out, her nose twitching at the rain and she turned around and glared at me as if to say "Dude! are you crazy? It's raining out there!" I and she went on about our morning rituals, me getting ready for work, her following me around and watching me. She stands at the door again, as surely it's now sunny and lovely out there. Again the door opens, the nose twitches, and she shoots me a helpless look. "You are the guy who makes food appear in my bowl. You drive the magic vehicle that takes me to the mountain to walk. Surely, you can make this rain stop, can't you? You're the all powerful guy!"

It gets closer to the time I need to leave and the rain shows no sign of relenting. So? I grab my golf umbrella and go outside and stand at the bottom of the steps, because she will go in the rain if I go too. Whether this is a security thing for her or just a "if I'm getting wet, I'm taking you down with me" thing, but it always works. She then goes out in the yard to ummm. transact her morning business. As I am standing there, feeling like I am the only fool in the world with such a spoiled animal, I see across the street that Hot Blonde Chick is in her back yard with an umbrella doing the same thing. So I am not the only one!

The pampered pup has now transacted all she cares to transact and we head back in where I towel her down until she's nice and dry. I pat her on the head and get ready for work, not having had time to pack my lunch. Oh well, what's a missed lunch when I need to take care of my girl? Because I am the all-powerful guy who feeds her and I have to live up to that I guess.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level