take out the word "god" and say gutterpoet instead, go on! [ 2004-06-14, 5:09 p.m. ]

urggghhh. I hate it most when I find myself on the side of people I truly think I would loathe were I to meet them. Namely, this Michael Newdow guy, the one who sued to keep "under God" out of the pledge. Indeed, I've seen this miserable, detestable moron more than a few times in the past year or so. I'm quite sure in real life I'd want to beat the snot out of him.

But he's right. Since the story seems buried today (the Constitution and it's bill of rights you see aren't apparently too vital anymore) the Supreme Court sidestepped the matter of the words "under God" in the pledge of allegiance being unconstitutional, on a technicality. This loser isn't the custodian of his daughter so he can't enter the suit for her.

Bleh, I was hyped for this. Because the court couldn't in any way shape or form of legality but find forcing children to say those words in a "government school" a violation of the constitution.

Mind you, I have no problem saying those words myself. I also will tell you that the founding fathers did rely heavily on christianity as the basis for our laws. BUT they were also smart enough to keep it out of the hands of future governments. Thus this late addition to the traditional Pledge is Grade A 100% unconstitutional.

But hell, I feel like about the last person alive who even cares about this tattered old document that contains the keys to our freedoms and rights. It is unique in the whole world. Why, did you realize that Canada has no guarantee of free speech anywhere in it's constitution? Uggghh, I'll sustain my rant about our eroding freedoms for now.

Because the main point was that right is right even if you have to hold your nose and stand behind someone hideous to be right.

So here I stand behind Mr.Newdow and *gasp* the zany 9th circuit of the zany state of California. Politics do really make for strange bedfellows I guess.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level