Political picadillo [ 2004-08-31, 7:43 a.m. ]

Eegads. If there is a more heinous event than the Democratic Convention back a few weeks ago, it is the Republican Convention in New York. I don't blame the networks for cutting the coverage of these sappy info-mercials calling themselves conventions one bit. I guess 9/11 is going to be the 'pubs version of Kerry in Vietnam.

I.E. rammed down everyones throat ad nauseum. By the way, were you aware that Kerry served in Vietnam? Just wanted to make sure, it hasn't been a headline in the past five minutes. Reporter: Sen. Kerry can you tell us about your plans for healthcare? Kerry: Plans? Not really. But when I was wounded in Vietnam. aye-yi-yi

But now I guess every speaker in NYC will start out with "a mere four blocks from here"...yada and yada. Reporter: Mr. President how do you plan on addressing the deficit? Bush: Well, as I looked over the scene of 9/11 and led the fight against terror... Yep.

Anyone looking for either candidates "agenda" would do well to avoid these tedious affairs. Actually anyone who can find any postition of policy of any sort should contact either of these clowns. They don't seem to know!

I've always personally thought that the Constitution erred when the convention decided on the four year term with re-election. I know where they were coming from with wanting the executive to be accountable as they feared monarchy so, but still. I like the other popular idea at the time better, that of one seven year term. Imagine a sitting President not constantly running for re-election! ahhh yes.

God love the protesters though. They provide good entertainment. Although I have some small criticism. Can't we update our protests a bit? I mean "give peace a chance", "war is not the answer", please stop watching that same 1968 news reel. And why must every protester look they haven't seen running water in the last ten years? Geezimus people! How about "giving soap a chance", eh? Does the stench give you more protest cred? What's wrong with, hey, I'm clean, I smell good, I have a freshly laundered "Hail to the thief" tee-shirt on, I am ready to protest! By Gawd, have a bit of self-respect and maybe they wouldn't look like such wastrels to everyone else. Use some deodorant there Shaggy and maybe I'll listen to ya. This is why Move(your bowels)On.org needs to hire me as a strategist. I don't care if he is as right as rain, hell nobody wants to side with Michael Moore, he's just an ass. They need to give the Joe and Joeann Public someone paltable out there protesting that might be embraced.

Regardless, I am quite thankful the Gods of Satellite beam down Seinfeld reruns and baseball games so I don't have to watch a second of the vomit-inducing Convention or the media's lame-brain uninformed coverage of it.

And that Kramer. Isn't he something?

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level