mid-day in the garden of good and evil [ 2004-08-04, 10:10 a.m. ]

I dunno. Is it just me?

Does anyone else sometimes sit and wonder about what we were taught about religion and God and the Devil and good and evil? And do you further ponder if it all isn't just a sham and that because of this sham people are killed daily fighting over an entity who may well not even exist? All the bloodshed and turmoil because of differing beliefs over a figment of the imagination dreamed up by a humans in an attempt to control us all?

And do you then think about how the church and the government use this spectre of evil in the form of the Devil just to try and scare us into behavior deemed appropriate by them using fear and intimidation all in the name of "values" and to keep us in line?

And then you're on the phone, and on hold and you hear "Sussudio" by Phil Collins while you wait and then it gets stuck in your head and you cannot get RID OF IT TO SAVE YOUR LIFE AS THIS EVIL INCARNATE SONG IS LODGED DEEP WITHIN YOUR BRAIN MATTER AND IS SLOWLY BUT SURELY KILLING YOU WITH IT'S HORRIBLE BANALNESS AND VANILLA MELODIES AND YOU START RAMMING YOUR HEAD INTO THE WALL TO MAKE IT STOP OH DEAR GOD JUST MAKE IT STOP I WANT TO DIE AND YOU REALIZE THAT THERE IS INDEED A DEVIL AND THIS DEVIL IS PURE EVIL AND IS TRYING TO KILL YOU THROUGH IT'S EARTHLY AGENT OF DEATH PHIL COLLINS. YES THERE IS A DEVIL, THERE IS A DEVIL!!!!

It is then you doubt all that you were thinking before having now dealt with evil directly and you rethink all that you thought you knew.

Here I thought Celine Dion was the devil, but it's really Phil Collins.

Or maybe it's just me.

***an added editor's note. One friend has suggested the last line of this entry seems to indicate that I am saying that Phil Collins is the devil or maybe "it's just me" meaning that possibly I am the devil. While I have been called "demon spawn" or "Lucifer" or "the prince of darkness" by an unhappy ex-girlfriend or seven, this was not what I meant. I refer to the "do you ever wonder" query that starts the entry. As far as I know I am not the devil, and I do suppose one would know if one were the devil. So I am not admitting to being the devil in the entry above. I don't think. Now I'm confused. Good night nurse.******

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level