In memorium [ 2004-10-27, 3:38 p.m. ]

I just learned that one of the great unsung heroes of the punk/alternative music scene has died.
John Peel of Radio One in the UK died in Peru on vacation. Without "Uncle John" who knows if many of those great bands of the 70's,80's,90's would have ever been heard. A true champion of the muscic scene worldwide, he will be sorely missed.
As a pre-teen who loved punk rock, tapes of his show would be passed around between me and my friends on *gasp* cassettes (anyone remember those but us old folks?)obtained from overseas before there was an internet. I also must own a dozen of those "Peel Session" LP's from some of my favorite bands.
Thank you John Peel for introducing the world to the likes of the Clash, Stiff Little Fingers, Gang of Four, the Undertones, the Cure and way too many others to even mention.
Rest in peace, my friend.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level