Sorry I got lost somewhere on the way over. [ 2004-03-03, 5:10 p.m. ]

Sleep?

It's over-rated.

I'm certainly no stranger to insomnia, in some form, I've lived with it most of my life. Like most fairly minor irritations in life you just get used to it and go on. I supposedly slept much less than I should have as a child and during my crazy teen years subsisted on 3 or 4 hours easily.

As an adult (in years anyway not mindset thank you) now it has settled down some. I even sometimes sleep as much as 6 or 7 hours a night for long stretches of time.

But once or twice a year it still strikes. A few years ago I even went to a doctor about it. After research and study and some keen advice from a friend who is a professional in that field, we finally figured it out.

I get the equivelent of Spring Fever. But my system is so highly geared that it just manifests itself more than with a normal person. That and the fact that I apparently don't have the outlet for my subpar creativity that I used to have when I played in bands. It builds and builds and then mixing with the advent of warmer weather, I go into my own Prague Spring. And I get a minor case again as fall approaches and the leaves change

For two weeks now I come home after my usual long day at work and do what I can in the yard or some exercise and I am dead by 8 or 9pm. I go to bed by 10pm and konk out right on cue.

By 2am or so I'm wide awake. I've learned by experience that the worst thing you can do is just lay there. I get up and let the dog out to pee, then settle in on the computer and write. And write. And write. Pages upon pages. Then I head back to bed by 4 or 4:30am shut my eyes briefly and then bam! it's 4:50 and the alarm goes off. I'm not just writing the normal claptrap you read here either, it's almost actually good. I'm in full Idiot Savant mode! I run into a door one hour and then in the middle of the night, I type five pages of answers to questions I can't normally understand. At work, I go spring cleaning crazy. I'm creating new forms, re-aligning my desk, I'm a dynamo. It's funny too when I go back and look at the old lyric sheets from the band days nearly everyone says March or April.

But like the poor Chechs, this Spring of my great awakening will soon pass. Already the fatigue factor from the missed sleep is creeping into play. A tinge of crankiness and short temper crop up. My thoughts lose cohesion and float away more and more. Soon, I'll be back to sleeping again and it's all over.

Luckily I've learned to capitalize on this and go with the flow, because come say, July, and I am a true moron again, I'm going to need my treatise on life to get by again.

Indeed I've been so wrapped up in this mental pleasuredome that I hadn't even noticed I'd not added an entry here in days. I forget meals and lose track of time.

There is no drug as wonderous as what our very own mind can do for us.

My friends can rest assured that soon enough I'll be back to my usual mediocrity and the Gutterpoet they all know and loathe so much.

Long live the Idiot Savant though he has the lifespan of a fruitfly!

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level