Let there be light [ 2004-05-13, 7:03 a.m. ]

My Lord I'm such a moron sometimes. And why don't men ever read the instructions?

Instructions are for geeks that's why.

However...

I bought some solar lights for my backyard. We have no street lights or well any light at night at all save for the moon. I had bought a couple of lights on clearance at the Big K and put them near the garden sitting area. I just dug the way they looked out there. Two little beacons amongst the still darkness. They are great, no lines to run or anything just set them out there and let the sun do the work.

I returned to the Big K and bought four more slightly different lights to spread around the yard. I excitedly (ok, that sounds sad but I do get excited about such things) opened the pack and placed them in the yard. It was evening so I didn't expect anything until they had a chance to charge up. So Monday night still nothing. Maybe they didn't receive enough sunlight where they were. Moved them to full sunlight. Tuesday night, nada.

Dammit these things are defective! At this point the Sig Ot suggested I might read the directions and see if I missed something. Phish. Women..."whatever" says I. But I do read them. "remove protective strip from battery before use..". Protective strip? Oh.

So yeah the lights work now.

Obviously the lights were designed by some militant woman who is out to make men look dumb. A conspiracy against men yet again! Well, let me say this, we men don't need any help looking dumb Miss Solar Light Designer, thank you very much.

uhh or something like that.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level