He who jumps one inch [ 2005-04-16, 6:56 a.m. ]

I jumped this week. Well sorta.
I hadn't tried to jump for a couple of months. The last time I couldn't even make my legs move or budge. Damned blown disc!
Someone mentioned a friend with back problems who could no longer jump in conversation. Afterwards I thought I'd give it a go. I held on to my desk for balance and actually was able to jump off the ground maybe an inch. I was excited to some degree, progress seems so slow it's nice to have something to point to. But how pathetic is that when I realize that at one time I could dunk a basketball? Extremely.
Going to work in the yard today. I want as much done as possible before I leave for St. Augustine Wednesday for a mini vacatation. My tomato seedlings I've been raising inside must be in the ground. I think all 20 of them will survive very well.
As usual I've nearly killed myself with study of the history of a place I am visiting. And with St. Augustine there is so much rich history to learn. But by the time I get there I'll be able to lead tours of the historic district.
Speaking of studies of history, I've continued my research of where I live now. I actually know more about the Native Americans here with the Etowah Mounds and the Cherokee capital being so close by. I wouldn't be surprised to dig up artifacts anytime I work in the yard back where the heavy equipment didn't dig up ground for the house. In fact it I am merely about a mile from one of the Cherokee's main trade routes across the state. This was their land until the 1830's and the famous trail of tears. Few people seem to realize that they were a very advanced people who were not living in huts but had large houses and towns that were indistinguishable from the white mans. They had newspapers and elected leaders. They would have been quite content to assimilate into the white man's world and in fact had, but land greed forced their removal.
Last week after much study and some email exchanges with the historical society I located what would be the closest town to my current rural location, Crowsville. So named for Willis Crowe who ran a post office and general store at a crossroads. I located the site finally about five miles away now under a sub-division.
Yeah only I would get excited about months of study leading to up to having to imagine a town that no longer exists where it once stood. I am a freak I know.
Best I can tell nothing ever existed on my current land before me. Maybe Native American camps of travelers, maybe a cow or two at the edge of a nearby farm (part of a very old fence still stands at the edge) but nothing I can tell. But I'm still working on it.
Oh well I have coffee to drink and tomatoes to plant and so I'm...

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level