jeepers Scooby, what was that? [ 2004-04-08, 7:50 a.m. ]

My dog and I see dead people.

Well my dog might, I just "sense" things. The wildest example was a few years ago. I was dating a girl whose brother had died a year before in a car accident. We were at her house one night (unbeknownst to me one year to the day he died) and I keep feeling something was around us. I didn't mention it since it would likely freak her out and went home. The next morning I called her and told her about it since it was now daylight and less creepy. She sat silent on the other end. Just that morning she had found a letter from him lying on top of her desk when she woke up. She was certain that it had been in a desk drawer.

This led her to become obsessed with the whole communicating with the dead thing. She insisted we go to see John Edwards, the great dead talker, in Atlanta. Now, I myself think this guy does see/sense things maybe like I do, but the rest I believe is just show biz. And hey, as always if you can find a way to make a buck in this world, god love ya. But she was convinced this guy was the real deal. She buys his book and we stand in line to get it signed. We are about five people back in line and he starts staring at me. Almost glaring. When I get up there he bypasses my friend and her book and says "so, what do you see?". "see?" I ask. "yeah, do you SEE anything?" I know what he means and I half way embarrassed answer "shadows, white and dark flashes". He smiles wryly and takes a cocktail napkin and scribbles down a phone number for me to call. He signs the book but as I leave he keeps watching and smiling. It was weird. This girl now of course, thinks I am some kind of Mystic Powermonger. The number was to his office and for $200 I could attend an invitation only workshop to "learn to use my gift". Yeah, a gimmick, but still weird all the same how it transpired.

I've been to Savannah a few times, supposedly a hotbed of roaming dead spirits, but have not really sensed anything at all. Charleston however was very different. The Sig Ot and I went a couple of years ago and stayed in a B&B that was about 230 years old. We surmised our room was an old servants quarter. My God, the place was hoppin' with spirits! I heard whispers all night, footsteps above us (we were on the top floor) and they had these scary looking chains beside the fireplace that were an odd decor addition. We heard chains rattling but the chains we could see did not move. Even the Sig Ot was catching the action. As I walked the old city I felt things darting here and there constantly. I loved it and hope to return again soon.

Now my constant companion, my dog, and I are 100% on the same page with sensing spirits. Who knows, maybe she even sees them, as dogs are supposed to be keenly aware in that area. Often the hairs on my arm will raise simultaneously with her waking up and growling at seemingly nothing. It really freaks me out when I look over and she is in the sit position staring at a blank wall as if someone is standing right there. I'm thinking she and I should form some sort of spirit detection team, wouldn't that be a damn cool way to make a living?

The new house I've been in since Sept however, seems devoid of any other-worldly guests. Of course it is brand new so that may be why and as far as I can tell the land itself was merely pasture and woods previously, no ancient Native American burial ground or anything. YET, a mere couple miles away is an actual ancient Indian burial ground, the Etowah Indian Mounds. The major Cherokee city in this part of the country also existed a few miles away. Surely, these noble spirits are out there somewhere.

The old house had some things running around our midsts for sure, so maybe like the damned Post Office, it takes ghosts a while to catch the forwarding address. It's probably hard to move too fast when you're 300 years old.

Anyway, if anybody out there has a little sumpin'-sumpin' rattlin' in their attic, drop me a line.

It's been too long since I've felt the chill and I'm jonesin' for it.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level