Humpty Dumpty had nothing on these women [ 2004-06-28, 5:17 p.m. ]

Around lunch time I was walking in the hallway just outside my office, when I heard this gi-normous crashing noise. I put what I had in my hands down on my desk and walked out to take a look to see what if anything was amiss outside. The hallway leads to a door to outside where the compactor and generator and huge ass air conditioning unit for the building is located. To the left is the parking lot, to the right is about a 15 foot retaining wall as we are below ground technically from the front of the building and it's parking lot.

I look up and there is a freaking car right above hanging over the ledge! There are two little old ladies in the front while a couple of guys arriving from the offices in front are trying to hold down the back end as the car is swaying back and forth ready to go over the wall. I run up there in the pouring rain and became the fourth person to hang onto the back of the car.

Now these old ladies are scared shitless (as I would have been!)and they would NOT stop moving. Everytime they move we have to push down to counter it and we keep yelling at them to stay still. More people arrive to help and finally the police and rescue people get there and get a cable on the car and we can finally let go. There is no doubt in my mind that if that car went over the edge they may well have died. And I am also pretty sure that the first person or two on the scene (the ones before me) are the sole reason this didn't happen. It was quite scary and quite exciting all at once.

Ahhh, just watching the news story on TV about it. I made the news. Well, okay I was one of "several civilians who saved the car from going over the wall", still that's sort of making the news, isn't it?

But I am glad those poor old ladies are safe and sound. Apparently the driver hit the gas rather than the brake. A couple more inches and they were goners.

Other than that, just a normal day at work!

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level