The grammar police! [ 2004-06-22, 11:08 a.m. ]

People boycott a store or a company for many reasons. Maybe they use 8 year olds in sweat shops, or cut down rainforests or pump noxious fumes into the air. Whatever, people decide to make a stand and protest or at least not frequent these places of business.

I'm an activist in this regard myself. I have recently began a boycott of a major department store chain in my area. Why?

Bad grammar.

The Macy's stores in our area merged with the Rich's stores. They combined these storefronts into one store. The name they call this enterprise? "Rich's Macy's". I kid not. Now, I'm willing to put up with say "Macy's". It seems to be possesive of nothing, but we'll assume the silent "store" after the word. But what the hell is "Rich's Macy's"? A double possesive? I can't allow this to be out there on public display! How many children will be ruined grammatically by this before they are stopped. They MUST be stopped.

Therefore, I shall not in any way shop this store no matter what kind of great deals they may have on polo shirts for golf. Never again shall I darken their door. I hope everyone in the Atlanta area will join me in this boycott and stop this grammatical crime now!

I am working on tee shirts and bumper stickers as we speak.

stay tuned.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level