syrupy sugary goodness [ 2004-06-30, 1:41 p.m. ]

It's not my fault it's three a.m.

he called out into the night...

Last night was one of those nights where I was awake and up at least once every hour on the hour it seemed. But not because I was restless or couldn't sleep, because I could have slept and slept.

Why then? A series of unrelated circumstances conspired this upon me. The first was, well, self-inflicted. I stopped by the grocery store on the way home from work. As I passed the deli I noticed that store's own brand of Sweet Ice Tea (gallon size!) was a buy one get one free deal. Now I do love me some buy one get one freebies. I don't care what it is or how much the one may cost, I want the free one dammit!

I probably inherit this from my Dad. The very few times Mom would send Dad to the store to shop were always entertaining. He would buy five cans of asparagus because he would save 10 cents per can. Then Mom would tell him "but none of us like asparagus!!" Undaunted by this, he would over the next few days eat the dreaded vegetable as if he loved it just to prove he knew what he was doing, likely hating ever bite. Whoo Yeah, I definitely carry on that trait!

Sorry. Back to the narrative. I arrive home with two whole gallons of sweet ice tea. With such a bounty, I became like a sailor on shore leave. I may have drank a good half gallon or so during the evening. Therefore, as you may surmise, my bladder was overloaded and less than happy. It's displeasure meant my having to go and ummm "return the liquid I borrowed to the Earth" several times during the night.

Secondly, the dog and cat were having quite the restless night. I am a notoriously light sleeper and these little disruptions kept waking me up. Then the dog decided she just had to go outside. Ugghh.

The last reason was because I am often just very weird. During one of my forays into the darkened living room, I noticed the cool way the moon was shining through the mostly cloudy sky. I was an very eerie sort of effect. I was so enchanted by this I watched for some twenty minutes.

The casual observer today might look at me and my dark circles around my eyes and conclude that I was out partying or having wild adult fun half the night.

Of course in reality, I'm just a guy with a rowdy dog and cat, a bladder like a six year old girl who can be distracted for long periods of time by bright lights.

Truth is often scarier than fiction.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level