Goldberg and Gay marriage [ 2004-02-28, 7:42 a.m. ]

Oh glorious Saturday!

After having snow this week, it's going to be in the 60's and sunny today and tomorrow here in Georgia. As I sit here sipping my fine Costa Rican coffee the sun is slowly climbing over the horizon to put it's spotlight on my little part of the world.

That sounded like a bad commercial.

I had a thought last night at approximately 2:45 am. I got up to let the dog out and sat on the couch for a bit until she was ready to come back in. I flipped channels and saw an infomercial with a rednecky guy for carwax. This guy had the ubiquitous shaved head with a goatee look that during the 90's became THE look for white guys in their 20's-40's. I guess it was popularized by the wrestler Goldberg as best I can tell. I've always thought this was fairly dorky but hell, what do I care? The more wretched other men look, the better I look. But over the years I think this look (aka "the state pen look") has slid down and became popular with the lowest common denomenator. Particularily those who 10 years ago might have sported a mullet. You look at the crowd at a NASCAR event and this look is almost uniform across the crowd. So yes, the state pen/goldberg look is the mullet of the 21st century. Mock me if you will, but you'll come back in a few years and tell me I'm right. If you or your loved one sports this look, I mean no offense (okay maybe a little)but come on people it's not 1996 any longer. If you're balding, bald is fine but shave that shite off your damn face. Food gets trapped there and it's disgusting as hell. This concludes todays Gutterpoet guide to fashion and grooming. Thank you.

Yard work today, dinner out at the house of theSig OT's Breeders tonight. I'm in a Red Stripe mood methinks tonight and the fare being offered is Cuban, so it all flows like a beautiful Zen poem. Sort of.

Had a lively chat with a co-worker yesterday over the old hot button gay marriage issue. She was appalled that I had no problem with gay marriage. Because of my stand against taxes and such she was sure I was a Conservative and she called me "inconsistent". Yours truly bowed up over this.

"INCONSISTENT", I nearly shouted, "I am the only consistent person you know. I believe in personal, social and economic freedom. YOU Repugnantcans believe in financial freedom but you want to tell me what I can do with my penis all the dam time. The Libs are socially free but don't believe I should keep my own money to live as I feel best." YOU are inconsistent madame, not I. I do not fear freedom in any way shape or form. If freedom kills, then I desire to die now." Okay so I sort of ripped off Patrick Henry there, but I was on a roll. An on-looker, an acknowledged Dem cheered on "whew gutterpoet! You told the stupid Repugnantcan!" Hmmm. Here we again.

"You think I did huh? If there's anything more inconsisent than her it's you! You talk about that Damned Bush yet your candidate has said he doesn't support gay marriage either! Kerry believes in the defense of marriage act passed in Congress. How can you slam Bush for something your guy also believes?" She too was pissed and vowed to research and prove me wrong. I also told her that the only party with a candidate on the ticket whose platform openly supports gay marriage as well as legalization of pot was the Libertarian party. She scoffed at me and I am sure thinks I am wrong. Sheep are funny.

Time to go to Home Depot and get in action.

A grand and peaceful Saturday to everyone.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level