what's the story morning glory? [ 2004-08-09, 1:21 p.m. ]

For no apparent good reason, today finds me quite fiesty and confrontational. Yeah, I know, so what else is new, eh?

Some good news. I spent a good part of yesterday preparing the old house again for rental since the listing was about to expire and it didn't sell during the summer.

Then just as an ad was about to be placed for the rental, a buyer appeared out of nowhere with an offer. After a bit of haggling, it's a done deal. Not paying TWO mortgages when it's not rented will be nice. As will NOT having to take care of two acre sized yards. I shall now dance a fine jig to that piece of good news. *jigging is now taking place, please stand by*

Thank you for standing by.

Tonight is the beginning of football! Sure, pre-season football but football nonetheless. Oh, how I love me some football. *for my fine overseas friends I, of course, refer to the senslessly violent american football and I love every senselessly violent moment of it, oh how I do*

I miss playing, because I really enjoy hitting people. But watching with a cold adult beverage on a cool, crisp fall day, well that is living.

Speaking of sports just a few days until the Olympics. Now this I just can't get too excited about. Mostly because of the crap-for coverage we get in the States of it.

I enjoy the competition itself, but we see less competition than we do a bunch of dramatic features. Certainly, there are some unbelievable stories of athletes who escape a dictator or something and have to go through unreal hardship just to compete. But damn condense it down and show more of the actual event.

**soft piano music plays** Abalio Pabalio of Lower Gnatsrovia lives in a country that hasn't had rain in 70 years. He had no water in which to practice diving into, therefore he dove head first in dirt as hard as concrete. "ME head hurt all de time mon" he says. (it's little known but in Lower Gnatsrovia they speak with a jamaican accent...apparently)

Now with the gymnastics, like figure skating which are more of an artsy sort of thing, you do expect the drama. But you know going in you're going to hear the trials and tribulations of 60 pound 12 year old over and over. Those fans expect that. **soft piano music drones** Little Svetswana Trampilana of Outer Youbangity tells of her chilling struggles.sob, sob, waterworks etc. "that was the worst day of my life"..sob, sob waterworks," I foolishly let a friend talk me into trying a french fry, I just had one, but the damage was done. Next day at practice my coach KNEW something was wrong. I got on the scales and I had gained three ounces and I weighed 42 pds." sob, sob, waterworks. "it was the darkest day I've ever known." But I don't need to hear how the javelin champion has an ingrown pubic hair that nearly killed him, just throw the damned stick man. Just throw the damned stick.

If they cut out the sappy, syrupy stories they could show all the events, not just a few. I might like to see sports I've never seen. Let the competition speak for itself. Like that one in the winter Olympics, where they drop a big rock on the ice and two guys sweep brooms furiously back and forth in front of it. Curling is it? Only the Olympics would have people watching this. Otherwise they would just be two very strange men people would snicker at. That's the spirit of the Olympics. Well that and bribery apparently.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level