Frontline of breaking news [ 2004-06-05, 12:42 p.m. ]

Man.

A plane crashed this morning, right across the street from where I live!

We live very near a small airport and on the weekends there are a lot of those small glider sort of planes (hope that was too technical for anyone!) and one has crashed maybe 75 yards from the house. Nik and I were hiking at the mountain this morning and the Sig Ot left me a message saying they had the street closed and blocked off in front of my house with cops and media all over my yard as it was as close as they would let you in.

I had to show ID to even get home. I was going to go yell at the ambulance chasers to get out of my yard, but the Sig Ot reminded me that there were cops there as well and maybe I shouldn't piss off cops.

I almost decided to stay home and mow the yard instead, in which case I would have been doing that as the plane crashed over my head. Then I could have been right there on the news, one of those people I make fun of standing shirtless saying "nuttin' like this ever happens round these parts, he just plumb went straight down".

But one person apparently did die and another seriously injured. In fact they were taking some relatives to the site as I was coming in. So that is a real shame and just terrible. Out of respect I'll refrain from going out and making an ass of myself. For now.

Ohhh and almost forgotten in all this, is I have a wedding to go to in just a couple of hours. Better go shave and I hope I have a suit ready to go...

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level