Fly this flag buddy. [ 2004-04-20, 9:40 a.m. ]

Seems as though I've written this before but then again don't I really write the same thing over and over anyway? Who'll notice?!?

Flags, flags everywhere theres flags. On vehicles, on clothing, outside of houses, just everywhere I say. And I just find it pointless.

Let me clearly say however, I'm not some anti-American leftist running around burning flags in a rage of self-hatred. Quite the contrary, I believe despite it's problems this country is the shiote baby, no question. I stand with, beside, behind, in front, above (just name your preposition and I'm there) the people and the nation itself.

HOWEVER, I'm not running around with a loincloth of the American flag on or something. The flag is just something the military uses so you don't shoot the wrong people, and it's just a symbol and therefore ummm. merely symbolic. Symbolism seems like wasted effort to me. Am I less American because every inch of my vehicle and home don't proclaim in gaudy fashion? In fact, seems to me that someone who feels they must display the flag in your face constantly might be a bit defensive don't ya think? Heckums if I was a terrorist I'd drape myself in the flag so as to not stand out. Because appearances mean nothing at the end of the day.

When I go to a sporting event, I gladly remove my cap and show respect for the flag and anthem. But this doesn't mean a dam thing, it proves nothing. If the flag outside my house has flowers and bugs on it (don't make fun of me now) instead of the stars and stripes it doesn't mean a dam thing either. Is it like someone is going to get lost on my block and not know what country they're in?

"Howard! I told you not to go left at Montreal! We're in the US! Look at that flag!

And when morons in this country or overseas burn the flag, do I freak out? Nah, who cares, it's a piece of fabric dude. Those who burn flags and those who freak out over it, have something in common that makes them brothers-in-arms.

They worship symbols, and not substance.

While many prance around draped in a flag, Liberals and Conservatives alike are chipping away at the very principles and rights we SHOULD hold dear. That's right, principles, not a piece of cloth. Real patriotism would seem to me defiance of both do-gooderism and greed, those things which actually threaten our rights in the name of so-called "common good" or for corporate good. Defiance against those who find individual liberty frightening.

The real enemy is often within.

last - next

4 - 2006-07-04

The bacon rebellion - 2006-06-25

scattergories - 2006-06-19

once more into the breach boys - 2006-06-05

not so famous last words - 2006-01-06

navigate
current
archives
profile
website
Dec 18th pics
email
guestbook
notes
host
design
CURRENT TERROR ALERT:Terror Alert Level